Find a balance, let go and get uncomfortable

March 9, 2010 at 5:55 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Posted by: Rebecca

This week’s #HAPPO question asks PR pros to share the best career advice they’ve ever received.  I’ve been blessed with awesome career mentors who’ve let me in on some juicy career secrets, and I’d like to share two tidbits with you:

Career Advice No. 1: “Life is a balance of holding on and letting go.”

I can’t seem to remember how I found this quote, but it’s one I live by.  I think the key to life is balance.  Don’t get me wrong: I’ve worked hard to get to where I am today, and I plan to work hard for the rest of my life.  I’m not scared to log long hours every week to advance my career and help my organization succeed, but I never want to push the needs of my family members and friends to the wayside.  They keep me grounded, and I know I’ll always be happiest when I keep a healthy balance between work responsibilities and quality time with family/friends.

The second part of this quote deals with letting go.  It’s important to have dreams and aspirations, but it’s also important to be realistic.  We have to learn how to let go.  If the pitch you perfected all week falls through, you have to let go and move on.  If the job opportunity you’ve been praying about for months doesn’t pan out, you have to let go and keep moving forward.  Don’t beat yourself up over your failures; when it comes down to it, sometimes losing is really winning.  If you spend too much time focusing on unrealistic expectations, you might miss the bright opportunities right before your eyes.

Career Advice No. 2: “You’ll never know [your] full potential unless you challenge yourself.”

This piece of advice comes from a direct message conversation I had with Chuck Hemann last weekend.  For those of you who don’t know him: Chuck is an awesome mentor to Kent State PR students, and he recently packed his bags and moved thousands of miles away to pursue the career of his dreams.

I think Chuck really makes a great point.  The day your career ends is the day you get comfortable and stop challenging yourself.  Life is full of learning opportunities, and you have to expand your knowledge to progress as a professional and an individual.  You also can’t live life with an “I can’t” attitude; you have to seize the day and chase after your goals.

So that’s my advice: Find a balance, let go and get uncomfortable.

What advice can you share?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Rebecca – thanks very much for the mention. You guys deserve all the credit. Easy to help out those that are pushing to help themselves!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

